17 Str. 17
Vytauto g. 17
(+370-460) 51319, (+370-460) 53501
of the exposition (Palanga Amber Museum)
Palanga Amber Museum
was established on August 3, 1963. It is housed on
the estate of Count Feliksas Tiskevicius (1865-1932). The
estate, designed by German architect Franc Schwechten
(1841-1924), was built in 1897. The Palanga Botanical
Gardens, designed by the landscape architect Eduard
Francois Andre (1840-1911), surround the Estate. The
estate palace in neo renaissance style is an inseparable
part of the park's ensemble. A. Brusokas restored the
palace in 1957. The Count Tiskevicius
family resided in the palace until 1941.
A descendant of the Counts, Alfredas Tiskevicius, now
lives in Warshaw, On 22 of May 1997 the Council of Palanga
town granted the name of HONORARY CITIZEN of Palanga town
to Alfredas Tiskevicius.
The Palanga Amber Museum’s
exposition takes up 15 rooms. About 4,500 exhibit pieces
are found here. Visitors are acquainted with the
formation, processing, practical application, and
morphological variations of amber. The museum has a wealth
of amber pieces with trapped insects or plants, a
collection of unique pieces of amber, and examples of
fossilized tree resin brought from all over the world.
The Palanga Amber Museum is
a branch of the Lithuanian Art Museum. About 8 million
people have come to visit the Palanga Amber Museum.
The Museum is becoming
famous for its traditional cultural events. For 30 summers
now the terrace has been home to the night serenade
concerts. Interesting cultural events and meetings with
artists take place in the Fireplace Hall of the Estate.